Lessons from an Oversight

I wrote this post – Plagiarism: Interesting Notes Revisited and Noted after an incident.

I had written content for websites since 2014.  I was back to writing after years of hibernation from personal blogging.  Blogging, specifically personal blogging, is very different from content writing.  I have to adapt to some adjustments and learn about how to write an article or a content for a website.

The first project was successful, and so is the next, with a few minor calibration.  I was already contemplating on leaving my day job.  I am preparing myself to plunge into the world of freelancing.  Then another writing opportunity came.  The client interviewed me and gave me a task afterward.

There were a few corrections to the first article.  The client told me to remember them.   I got embarrassed that I was not careful but accepted it as a learning process.  The client gave me another assignment.  There is another project that time and the deadlines were the same.  I was so stressed out because I have a day job and I can only finish them after office hours.

I tried to complete the two articles from two different clients in haste.  I have no idea about the new assignment from the new client so I paraphrased terminologies.  The client reprimanded me because I plagiarized parts for the article.  I was given a copy of the article from a plagiarism checker.

To cap, I was turned down. I got very devastated.  I hated myself for being ridiculously careless and irresponsible.  How come I ended up like this?  That was the million dollar question.

The incident taught me to assess myself.  From that time on, I strived to take caution to the point that even after I submitted an article (that underwent checkers), I will go over it again to see if there are errors.

Another thing I learned is not to become complacent.  Competition is tight and I have to do my part of polishing my skills and to do my part of the deal to deliver effective content.

I still have writing projects now.  I am grateful for the trust.  I wish though that I can already take the step to venture into a different career.

2 thoughts on “Lessons from an Oversight

  1. I admire you for taking on these jobs as its something I would like to do. But I don’t have the confidence to do them.

    Like

    1. Thank you. I believe that we all start with not believing in ourselves first but it is a defeatist attitude to not even try.

      Whatever you want to do, give it a try. Who knows where it could lead you? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

